David A. Green: Out of the Yoke of Bondage

David A. Green is the author of The Beginning of Sorrows, Tonya Baldwin, Predetermined Legacy, The Young and the Foolish, and Out of the Yoke of Bondage. He served as assistant pastor and radio evangelist for the Gospel Spreading Church of God for several years. He now lives in Hampton, where he continues to write for pleasure and encouragement.

Donald and Mickey were standing on the corner of Queen Street and Back River Road when the white utility van pulled up to them. The back doors flung open and the Satan Warriors that were in it saw the two standing there. Brandon was in the van, and when he saw Donald he said, “Who are you?”

“I’m Donald King, aka the Pharmacist,” he said. Everyone in the van looked at him with amazement.

Brandon could not believe it. “Get in! Both of you!” The two climbed up and closed the doors.  When they were seated on the floor the van took off.

Donald looked around the van to see that it contained eight members of the gang. To his comfort, Crack was not present. He then asked, “Who is the leader?”

“I’m Brandon, and this is King. You talk to us,” he said as King nodded.

“I’ve heard a lot about you, Pharmacist! One of my lieutenants wants to kill you!” said King.

Donald was slow to speak. “I came here today to make a deal with you.”

Brandon and King looked at each other. “Speak!” said King.

“Mickey Burns is not gang material,” said Donald. “His cousin got killed in an ambush over in Norfolk and he wanted to get even. He did not think, and before he knew it he had joined the Warriors. He has since realized that he has made a mistake, gang banging is not for him, and he wants out.”

Brandon looked at Mickey. “Why should the Warriors let him go?”

“Because Jesus Christ has claimed him as his own. He surrendered his life to the Savior earlier today, and he is determined to walk with the Lord, and obey his words.”

King said, “You came here to make a deal?”

Donald paused then spoke. “My life for his and his family.” Gang members looked at each other and laughed.

“Quiet!” said King as the van became silent. He then pulled a switchblade from his pocket, and springing the blade from the handle, he jumped at Donald, who did not move. Grabbing him by the collar and laying him on the floor, he placed the point against his throat. “You are crazy to come up in this van! I could kill you both and toss you over the James River Bridge! You took a chance!” Mickey was shaking horribly, but Donald did not flinch. King noticed that he was not afraid, and after a moment, he released him and let him up. “You not afraid of me?”

Donald said, “Fear not them which kill the body, but are not able to kill the soul: but rather fear him which is able to destroy both soul and body in hell.” Rising up off the floor, he said. “I came here to die, and I was expecting nothing less. I know Crack wants me dead and I am willing to make that sacrifice. But this young boy deserves a better chance than what you can give him. Jesus Christ took my place on the cross, and he died in my stead. Now I want to do the same for Mickey and his family. If you kill me, I will have lost nothing, because I have Jesus. But if you die in your sins, you will be lost through eternity. I want to take Mickey’s place. Do with me whatever you see fit, but let him and his family live.”

King listened to his words before he spoke. “I remember when I was little, my mother used to tell me about a man that could take away sin. She said he could exchange his good life for my bad life and I could be free. She was talking about Jesus.” He then looked at Mickey, who was still shaking, and said, “I wish I could be free, but I’ve done too much. But Mickey, he has done nothing. I say we let them both go, and his family not be harmed.” Brandon nodded, and so did the other gang members.

Just then, the driver’s cell phone rang. Answering it, he said, “Yo, King!”

King took the phone. “Yeah.” After listening a few moments, he said, “Keep him cornered and don’t let him get away! We’ll be right there!” Folding up the cell phone, he said to Donald, “You don’t have to worry about Crack anymore. He’s no longer a Warrior. My boys have cornered him down in Norfolk, and we are going to deal with him right now. You two can get out here.”

The van pulled over to the Hampton Public Library. As Donald and Mickey jumped out of the van, King said, “Crack should have left you alone! The Warriors have nothing against you, and because Crack disobeyed me, I am going to take him down.” The doors closed up and the van sped off towards the interstate.

1 Comment

Filed under fiction

One response to “David A. Green: Out of the Yoke of Bondage

  1. Jena Massey

    I was fascinated at such a vivid display of the demons that plague so many lives. I know that individual named Crack. I once had a long and tormenting relationship with him. Unable to get out of the stronghold until I traded that relationship with Crack for a relationship with the man called JESUS. Now I am FREE!!! Free I tell you, FREE! Jena Massey

Leave a Reply

