Lori M. Hobson: Momma Sayings and Life Reflections

From her book Momma Sayings and Life Reflections:

What does success look like to you? How do you define it? Is it writing a book, building a business or making a certain amount of money? Clearly success looks different to different people. Equally clear is that success looks quite different from the inside than it looks from the outside. Those of us who are working to build something for ourselves and our children can relate to the long hours, setbacks and disappointments. We know what it took to get that house, that car, those clothes, etc.

When you pursue your dreams you may expect to encounter certain obstacles. Things like lack of financing, time or support. When you are a member of a minority group (this includes females), you expect to meet people who don’t believe in you because of who or what you are.

There is one thing that goes with the territory that could easily blindside you. That thing is haters. A hater is a person who cannot handle your success. He or she is bothered by the fact that you have been blessed. A hater is someone who wants what you have but doesn’t want to or can’t do what is necessary to get it. Unfortunately they are quite often the people who are closest to you.

One of the things that I learned about myself years ago was that I have a ‘light’ that people find attractive. Most of the time people are attracted to my light and they want to talk to me, be in my presence, ask me questions, etc. It’s great and it makes me a good friend, counselor, speaker and trainer.

However there is a small percentage of people who are also attracted to my light but want to put it out. When I realized this, I tried (to no avail) to hide my light so people wouldn’t try to hurt me. It didn’t take long to figure out that it is impossible to hide your light, especially from those who are most intimidated by it.

In the message Our Greatest Fear, Marianne Williamson says in part, “Our greatest fear is not that we are inadequate, but that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that frightens us. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you.” My interpretation of Marianne’s comments is that you should be who you really are always. Don’t attempt to hide your light and don’t let haters put it out.

A friend and mentor once told me that the difference between a star and a superstar is motivation and perseverance. When people hate on you it means that you are doing something right. The next time you encounter a hater tell them, you don’t hate me because I think I’m all that, you hate me because you think I’m all that. Look them in the eye and tell them to BRING IT!

1 Comment

Filed under nonfiction

One response to “Lori M. Hobson: Momma Sayings and Life Reflections

  1. This book is amazing. I purchased the 2nd edition and was blessed to be gifted this new edition. I plan on purchasing some additional copies for friends and family. I can’t wait to come out and see Lori at the library in February with the AWESOME Writers on Writing series. You can find Lori until then at http://www.findingyourbeauty.com.

Leave a Reply

